Skip to main content


The MPH degree at the Bloomberg School has helped shape MPH programs everywhere. Our MPH alumni include ministers of health, directors of the WHO and CDC, and founding deans of schools of public health. This timeline recounts our century of leadership on the front lines of public health.


JHSPH begins offering a one-year certificate in public health (CPH) for MDs and bachelor’s degree holders in “the physical or medical sciences.”


Passage of the Social Security Act establishes federal assistance for public health training, which doubles CPH enrollment.


CPH is renamed Master of Public Health (MPH) to emphasize academic quality and for consistency across universities.


World War II spurs growth of MPH programs, providing leaders for the military and new organizations such as the CDC and WHO.


The APHA begins accrediting MPH programs, based on the standard curriculum created with the School.


PHS officer Reginald G. James, MPH ’46, becomes the first African American to graduate from JHSPH, Johns Hopkins University, and any historically white southern university.


JHSPH, Harvard, and University of California admit U.S. Air Force officers who earn an MPH as the first year of the Aviation Medicine residency.


JHSPH faculty revolt to defeat the recommendation of the Committee to Reconsider the Educational Objectives of the School to eliminate the MPH, focus on the DrPH, and limit admission to MDs.


JHSPH establishes a two-year General Preventive Medicine Residency. Residents earn an MPH and spend another year in public health practice rotations.


Sushila Nayar, MPH ’50 is appointed India’s Minister of Health, one of many MPH alumni leading national health ministries.


JHSPH establishes the Office of Student Affairs under Associate Dean Edgar Roulhac, MPH ’75. His MPH minority recruitment and retention programs become the basis for developing the MPH student orientation and alumni career network.


Dean D. A. Henderson, MPH ’60 establishes an MPH review committee and names Abraham Lilienfeld, MPH ’49, the first MPH program director in 1980.


The MPH curriculum is modernized and expanded from 9 to 11 months.


MPH students establish the Anna Baetjer Society to promote student interest in public health practice.


Edyth Schoenrich, MPH ’71, steps down as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs to direct the part-time professional programs and serve as associate chair of the MPH Program. In these roles until 2018, she designs flexible graduate programs for working professionals.


W. Henry Mosley, MPH ’65 creates a CDC-funded part-time distance option for the MPH, the first ever offered online. That June, 35 students enroll.


MPH program enrolls Tulane students in the wake of Hurricane Katrina.


First MPH cohort enrolls in Barcelona, Spain.


JHSPH offers a fully online MPH program for the first time.


The Bloomberg School MPH Centennial Class begins its studies.

MPH Program Directors Since 1980

1980-1984: Abraham Lilienfeld, MPH ’49

1984-1989: David Paige, MPH ’69

1989-1996: Haroutune Armenian, MPH ’72, DrPH ’74

1997-2002: Miriam Alexander, MPH ’90

2002-2008: Ronald S. Brookmeyer

2008-present: Marie Diener-West