Skip to main content
Academic Calendar

2024-25

The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health academic calendar includes five 8-week regular terms, a Summer Institute, and Winter Intersession. The Bloomberg School must follow the University’s academic calendar and comply with the University's credit hour policy.

BSPH USERS: Download the academic calendarDownload religious and spiritual observances.

Summer Institutes

Begin Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Registration Begins for Summer Institute Term
Monday, February 12

MEMORIAL DAY HOLIDAY RECESS
Monday, May 27

Registration Ends for Summer Institute Term
Friday, May 24

Add/Drop Begins for Summer Institute Term
Monday, May 27

Add/Drop and Last Day to Make Schedule Changes for Summer Institute Term
Varies per course for Summer Institute

Part-time/Online MPH NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION
Sunday, June 2

Juneteenth Holiday
Wednesday, June 19

Incomplete Contract Period
Varies starting Tuesday, May 28–Friday, August 23

 

Summer Term

Monday, July 1 - Friday, August 23, 2024

Registration Begins for Summer Term
Monday, April 1

Registration Ends for Summer Term
Friday, June 28

NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION
Thursday, June 27–Friday, June 28

INDEPENDENCE DAY HOLIDAY RECESS
Thursday, July 4

Instruction Begins for Summer Term
Monday, July 1

Add Period for Summer Term
Monday, July 1–Friday, July 5 (for full term courses only)

Drop Period for Summer Term
Monday, July 1–Friday, July 12 (for full term courses only)

Last Day to Make Schedule Changes for Summer Term (Course withdrawal deadline)
Friday, August 9 (for full term courses only)

Incomplete Contract Period
Saturday, August 10–Friday, August 23

Make-up day for Summer onsite classes (if needed)
Saturday, August 17 

Last Day of Summer Term
Friday, August 23

Grades Due for Summer Terms
Friday, August 30**

**Grades for graduating students are due by Friday, August 23

 

1st Term

Monday, August 26 - Monday, October 21, 2024

Registration Begins for 1st Term for Continuing Students & Special Students
Monday, April 15

Registration Begins for 1st Term for New Students
Monday, July 1

1st Term Registration Ends for all Students
Friday, August 23

NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION
Wednesday, August 21–Friday, August 23

Instruction Begins for 1st Term
Monday, August 26

Add Period
Monday, August 26–Friday, August 30

Drop Period
Monday, August 26–Friday, September 6

LABOR DAY RECESS
Monday, September 2

Last Day to Make Schedule Changes for 1st Term (Course withdrawal deadline)
Monday, October 7

Last Day of 1st Term
Monday, October 21

Incomplete Contract Period
Tuesday, October 8 - Monday, October 21

Grades Due for 1st Term
Friday, November 1

 

2nd Term

Wednesday, October 23 - Friday, December 20. 2024

Registration Begins for 2nd Term
Monday, April 15

2nd Term Registration Ends
Friday, October 18

Instruction Begins for 2nd Term
Wednesday, October 23

Add Period
Wednesday, October 23–Tuesday, October 29

Drop Period
Wednesday, October 23–Tuesday, November 5

THANKSGIVING RECESS
Wednesday, November 27–Sunday, December 1

Last Day to Make Schedule Changes for 2nd Term (Course withdrawal deadline)
Friday, December 6

Incomplete Contract Period
Saturday, December 7–Friday, December 20

Last Day of 2nd Term
Friday, December 20

Grades Due for 2nd Term
Friday, January 10

**Grades for graduating students are due by Friday, December 20

 

Winter Intersession

Thursday, January 2-Friday, January 17, 2025

Registration Begins for Winter Intersession
Monday, October 7

Registration Ends for Winter Intersession
Friday, January 3

Part-time/Online MPH NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION
Sunday, January 5

Add/Drop and Last Day to Make Schedule Changes for Winter Intersession Term
Varies per course for Winter Intersession

Incomplete Contract Period
Varies starting Thursday, January 2–Friday, January 17

MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. HOLIDAY RECESS
Monday, January 20

Grades Due for Winter
Friday, January 24

 

3rd Term 

Tuesday, January 21-Monday, March 17, 2025

Registration Begins for 3rd Term
Monday, November 11

3rd Term Registration Ends
Friday, January 17

Instruction Begins for 3rd Term
Tuesday, January 21

Add Period
Tuesday, January 21–Monday, January 27

Drop Period
Tuesday, January 21–Monday, February 3

Last Day to Make Schedule Changes for 3rd Term (Course withdrawal deadline)
Monday, March 3

Incomplete Contract Period
Tuesday, March 4–Monday, March 17

Make-up day for 3rd term onsite classes (if needed)
Saturday, March 15 

Last Day of 3rd Term
Monday, March 17

SPRING RECESS
Tuesday, March 18–Friday, March 21

Grades Due for 3rd Term
Friday, March 28

 

4th Term

Monday, March 24-Friday, May 16, 2025

Registration Begins for 4th Term
Monday, November 11

4th Term Registration Ends
Friday, March 21

Instruction Begins for 4th Term
Monday, March 24

Add Period
Monday, March 24–Friday, March 28

Drop Period
Monday, March 24–Friday, April 4

Last Day to Make Schedule Changes for 4th Term (Course withdrawal deadline)
Friday, May 2

Incomplete Contract Period
Saturday, May 3–Friday, May 16

Last Day of Class for 4th Term
Friday, May 16

PUBLIC HEALTH CONVOCATION CEREMONY
TBD

UNIVERSITY COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY
TBD

Grades Due for 4th Term
Friday, May 30*

**Grades for graduating students are due by Friday, May 16

RESIDENCY PROGRAM ENDS
Monday, June 30