Skip to main content
Health Advisory Board

Committee Structure

The Health Advisory Board comprises three committees, which serve the Board and the School more broadly.

Development Committee

The Development Committee identifies, cultivates, solicits, and stewards major donors whose philanthropic interests align with the School. The Committee consults on campaign messaging, hosts regional dinners with new major donor prospects to promote the School, and assists the Committee chair and the Dean to ensure 100% HAB member giving.

Chair: Irene C. Frary    Staff Liaison: Heath A. Elliott

Ashok Agarwal, MPH '84

Robert J. Abernethy, 62

Marion Bergman, MD

George L. Bunting Jr.

Constance R. Caplan, MA '78

William C. Clarke III

Brian D. Crawford, PhD '82

Catharine C. Dorrier

Irene C. Frary, MBA

Douglass B. Given, MD

Dean Goodermote

Margaret Conn Himelfarb, MPH '04

Pamela Hoehn-Saric

Deborah Levy, PhD '97, MPH

Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH '87

Ira M. Rutkow, MD, PhD '81, MPH '78

Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS '73





Membership Committee

The Membership Committee identifies and solicits new members to the Health Advisory Board. The Committee evaluates current members in their final year for possible renewal, and strengthens other volunteer roles across the School.

Chair: Stephen G. Moore    Staff Liaison: Jimmie Lou DeBakey

Robert W. Carr, MD, MPH '86, FACPM

Brian D. Crawford, PhD '82

Catharine C. Dorrier

William Flumenbaum

Dave Hickey

Kathleen Ludwig

Ellen J. MacKenzie, PhD '79, ScM '75

Stephen G. Moore, MD, MPH '93


Innovation & Commercialization Committee

The Innovation & Commercialization Committee promotes and brands the School as an incubator of knowledge based solutions that impact public health. The committee develops new partnerships that broaden the base of support, and creates a culture among the faculty to take advantage of the opportunities to commercialize research and create revenue for the faculty and the School.

Chair: Caroline Popper    Staff Liaison: Jackson Ireland

Marion Bergman, MD

Joseph Boystak, MPH '77

Brian D. Crawford, PhD '82

Douglass B. Given, MD

Dean Goodermote

Randolph Gordon MD, MPH '88

Dave Hickey

Caroline Popper, MD, MPH '90

Karl P. Ronn