Skip to main content
Student Assembly

Student Assembly Leadership

The Student Assembly relies on strong leadership and dedicated members in order to fulfill its mission of representing, preserving, and promoting the interests of all students at the Bloomberg School.

Leaderships of the Student Assembly comprises:

  • Executive Members
  • Departmental Representatives
  • Members-at-Large
  • Committees

Get Involved in Student Assembly

All students at the Bloomberg School are encouraged to participate in the Student Assembly. Students can:

  • Run for a position in the spring, summer, or fall elections
  • Ask your department about becoming a departmental representative
  • Participate in a Student Assembly committee
  • Attend a Town Hall or general Student Assembly meeting to voice your opinions, concerns, or questions
  • Start or join a student group

Contact any of the Executive Board or committee members below for more information. 

Current Leadership

The members of the 2024-2025 Student Assembly Executive Board include:

President: Ashok Kanaparthi,

President-Elect: Alessio Pignatelli 

VP of Finance and Appropriations: Nicolle Carlo, 

Co-VP Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Yuhan Xiao 

Co-VP of Departmental & Academic Affairs: Sharon Ankoma,

Co-VP of Strategic Planning and Communication: YJ Na 

Co-VP of Professional Development and Academic Honors: Sataish Sheryar 

Co-VP Intercampus Affairs: Juliet Zon,

Co-VP Health and Well being: Li Diao

Members at Large: Pranab Chatterjee, Dehshini Ali, Claudio Franc, Soowon Lee

Student Assembly Standing Committees

Diversity, Equity, and Community Affairs Committee

  • Promote opportunities for students to get involved in community service and the community
  • Review community service grant applications for student groups interested in a community service project
  • Work to improve relations with the East Baltimore community with collaboration with various organizations, such as SOURCE, SPARC, and the administration
  • Organize events aimed at promoting community at the local, national, and international level, such as Baltimore Week and the advocacy panel series
  • Work with IDARE committee to focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion goals and oversee the implementation of the Strategic Plan

Finance & Appropriations Committee

  • Review funding applications for student events from recognized student groups and approve funds as appropriate
  • Oversee and manage the Student Assembly budget
  • Liaise between finance department and student groups for approved reimbursements

Professional Development and Academic Honors Committee

  • Coordinate the year-end faculty, staff, AMTRA, TA, and student recognition for excellence awards
  • Organize the Student Assembly auction, which raises funds for the Student Conference fund
  • Administer the Student Conference fund application and selection process
  • Organize networking opportunities with the Deans and alumni
  • Work with the Career Services Office to organize events to support the professional lives of Bloomberg School students

Health & Well-being Committee

  • Organize Town Hall meetings, a forum for dialogue between students and the administration
  • Conduct the end-of-year Quality of Life survey, which helps identify priorities for improvement
  • Work on issues that pertain to the overall quality of life of students

Community Engagement Committee

  • Plan and organize social and cultural events for all students at the School
  • Past events have included the spring formal, happy hours, welcome and end-of-the-year parties, cultural events, and talent shows.

Elections Committee 

  • Coordinate and execute the fall and spring Student Assembly elections.

 Student Assembly Ad-Hoc Committees

 Doctoral Student Council (DSC)

  • An ad hoc committee of the Student Assembly
  • Has representatives from all 10 Departments of the Bloomberg School and the school-wide DrPH program
  • Advocates for doctoral students (PhD, DrPH, ScD), with special attention to:
    • Transparency of academic requirements
    • TA compensation and working conditions
    • Student benefits
    • Funding and tuition
  • Provides a platform for sharing best practices across departments

Students may reach out to DSC representatives from their departments for help addressing issues that affect doctoral students. Elections for new DSC representatives are held in each department in April-May of each academic year.