Skip to main content

A cross-divisional department spanning


Environmental Health and Engineering Student Organization (EHESO)

Environmental Health and Engineering Student Organization (EHESO)

group of students posing outdoors after hiking

EHESO Fall Hike 2023

Our Mission

To facilitate social, intellectual, and service-oriented interaction between students, staff, and faculty of the Department of Environmental Health and Engineering through:

  • Planning social events, mixers, and happy hours for students, faculty, and staff to engage outside of the lab/classroom
  • Providing seminars for students to learn about available University resources and to develop professional skills
  • Serving on various Departmental and School-wide committees including the Educational Program Committee, Research Committee, JHSPH Student Assembly, and JHU Doctoral Student Council
  • Volunteering with community partners including Blue Water Baltimore, Bethel Farms, and others, to give back to Baltimore City.

EHESO Board​

 EHESO board members will serve in their positions until May 2024.

  • Kate Burgener (WSE)
  • President-elect: Grant Tore (BSPH)
  • Secretary: Kate Marquess (BSPH)
  • Treasurer: Shifali Mathews (BSPH)
  • Education Committee Representative: Anna Tillery (BSPH) and Daisy Grace (WSE)
  • Research Committee Representative: Ryan Hines (BSPH) and Stephanie Wilcox (WSE)
  • Policy & Practice Committee Representatives: Roger Chen (BSPH) and Yuhan (Amelia) Chen (WSE)
  • WSE Sustainability Leadership Council Representative: Dylan Gaeta
  • WSE GRO Representative: Dylan Gaeta 
  • BSPH Student Assembly Representative: Iman Habib
  • BSPH Doctoral Student Council: Lauren Deanes
  • Master’s Student Representatives: Maya Ghosh (BSPH) and Yuhan (Amelia) Chen (WSE) 
  • Post Doc Rep: Dr. Angela Aherrera (BSPH) 
  • IDARE Rep: Dr. Sharmaine Miller (BSPH)
  • Meghan Davis, PhD, DVM, Faculty Liaison


President, Kate Burgener -
EHESO inbox -