Skip to main content

Welcome to our brand new website. We’re still fine-tuning things. If you experience any issues or would like to provide feedback, please contact us.

A cross-divisional department spanning

Faculty

Full-time Faculty Directory

Faculty are located on either the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health East Baltimore campus or the Johns Hopkins Whiting School of Engineering (WSE) Homewood campus.

For more information about these locations, please see the Contact Us page.
 

Marsha Wills-Karp, Department Chair, Professor

East Baltimore Campus - Room E7527 || 410-955-2452

Homewood Campus - Ames 312 || 410-516-7092

mwkarp@jhu.edu

Allergy, asthma, immunology, pulmonary biology, environmental health, air pollution, microbiome, early life determinants of immune disease

Amesh Adalja, MD, FIDSA, Senior Scholar

aadalja1@jhu.edu

Jacqueline Agnew - JHSPH, Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room 7503D || 410-955-4037
The Johns Hopkins Education and Research Center for Occupational Safety and Health

jagnew@jhu.edu

Environmental health sciences, aging, workers occupational health, environmental health, occupational stress, musculoskeletal disorders, ergonomics, neurotoxins

Hedy V. Alavi , Associate Teaching Professor

Homewood Campus - Ames 215 || 410-516-6022

alavi@jhu.edu

Hazardous and solid waste engineering and management

Daniel J. Barnett - JHSPH, Associate Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E7036 || 410-502-0591

dbarnet4@jhu.edu

Public health practice, preparedness, emergency response, training, exercises, evaluation, terrorism preparedness, all-hazards readiness, mental health, organizational change, public health workforce

Shyam S. Biswal - JHSPH, Professor

sbiswal@jhu.edu

The Research Program of Shyam Biswal

Environmental health sciences, electronic cigarettes, cigarette smoke, lung diseases, inflammation, cancer, COPD, emphysema, asthma

Martin Bloem - JHSPH, Professor, Director, The Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future (CLF)
111 Market Place
mbloem1@jhu.edu
Food Systems, Nutrition, PEM, Micronutrient deficiencies, Food Security, HIV/AIDS

Joseph P. Bressler - JHSPH, Associate Professor

707 North Broadway || 443-923-2677

jbressl1@jhu.edu

Environmental health sciences, blood brain barrier, lead, iron transporters, neurodevelopment

Maureen A. F. Cadorette - JHSPH, Assistant Scientist

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W7503B || 410-955-4587

mcadore1@jhu.edu

Occupational and environmental health, DOE Former Workers Program, occupational and environmental health nursing, thyroid dysfunction and work

Jessie Buckley, PhD, Associate Professor
Buckley Research Group
615 N. Wolfe St. Room W7515
Jessie.Buckley@jhu.edu
Environmental and pediatric/perinatal epidemiology

Elsbeth M. L. Chee, Senior Research Associate

111 Market Place, Suite 850 || 410-659-6112

echee1@jhu.edu

Anita Cicero, JD, Deputy Director, Center for Health Security

acicero@jhu.edu

Nancy Connell, PhD, Professor
nancyconnell@jhu.edu
Immunology, biological weapons, biodefense, predator bacteria, microbial forensics
Peter DeCarlo, Associate Professor
Homewood Campus - Ames 301 || 410-516-5434
pdecarl1@jhu.edu
Outdoor and indoor air quality, air pollution, environmental chemistry, field measurements, atmospheric aerosols, climate change

Natalie Exum - JHSPH, Assistant Scientist

nexum1@jhu.edu

Meghan Frost Davis - JHSPH, Assistant Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E7612 || 410-614-8283

mdavis65@jhu.edu

The One Health Laboratory at Johns Hopkins University

Antimicrobial resistance, asthma, environmental epidemiology, environmental microbiology, microbial ecology, microbiome, MRSA, MRSP, one health, staphylococci, veterinary medicine  

Paul Ferraro, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Water and Environmental Economics

Homewood Campus - Ames 309 || 410-516-5127

pferrar5@jhu.edu

Ferraro Lab

@pauljferraro

Behavioral science, causal inference, evidence-based public policy, randomized experiments, economics, behavior change, impact evaluation

J. Hugh Ellis, Professor

Homewood Campus - Ames 210 || 410-516-6537

hugh.ellis@jhu.edu

Environmental systems

Robert Fitzgerald, Professor

615 North Wolfe; E7630 || 410-614-5450

rfitzger@jhu.edu

Environmental Health Sciences, carotid body, chemotransduction, cardiopulmonary control, acetylcholine, catecholamines, gene-based differences in ventilator response to hypoxia and in morphology/function of the carotid body

Gigi Kwik Gronvall, PhD, Senior Scholar, Associate Professor

ggronvall@jhu.edu

John Groopman - JHSPH, Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street Room E7527A || 410-955-3900

jgroopm1@jhu.edu

Environmental health sciences, chemical carcinogenesis, environmental carcinogenesis, chemoprevention, cancer prevention and control

Shima Hamidi, PhD, Assistant Professor
615 N. Wolfe Street
shamidi2@jhu.edu

Steve H. Hanke, Professor

Homewood Campus - Ames 209 || 410-516-7183

hanke@jhu.edu

Institute for Applied Economics

Applied micro- and macroeconomics and finance

Ciaran Harman, Associate Professor; Russell Croft Faculty Scholar

Homewood Campus - Ames 306 || 410-516-7102

charman1@jhu.edu

Harman Research Group

Landscape hydrology and transport

Thomas Hartung - JHSPH, Professor

Director, Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing (CAAT)

615 N. Wolfe Street Room W7035 || 410-614-4990

thartun1@jhu.edu

Christopher D. Heaney - JHSPH, Associate Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street Room W7033B || 443-287-4989

cheaney1@jhu.edu

The Johns Hopkins Environmental Health Microbiology and Immunology Laboratory

Environmental epidemiology, occupational and environmental health, infectious diseases, water and health, global climate change, community-based participatory research

Benjamin F. Hobbs, Theodore M. and Kay W. Schad Professor of Environmental Management

Homewood Campus - Ames 208 || 410-516-4681

bhobbs@jhu.edu

Hobbs Research Group

Environmental, energy, and water systems, economics

Helena Therese Hogberg - JHSPH, Research Associate

hhogber2@jhu.edu

Christopher Hurtado, MHS, Research Associate, Center for Health Security
churtad2@jhu.edu
Tom Inglesby, MD, Professor
Director, Center for Health Security

tinglesby@jhu.edu

Norma F. Kanarek - JHSPH, Associate Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E7541 || 410-955-3758

norma@jhu.edu

Cancer Prevention & Control Communications Network

Environmental Health Sciences, public health practice, public health performance, surveillance, tracking, community health, community health assessment, applied epidemiology, cancer

 

Kirsten Koehler - JHSPH, Associate Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E6632 || 410-955-7706

kkoehle1@jhu.edu

Dr. Kirsten Koehler Faculty Research

Exposure assessment, aerosols, air quality, spatial statistics

Mark J. Kohr - JHSPH, Associate Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E7616 || 443-287-2721

mkohr1@jhu.edu

Kohr Laboratory of Cardiovascular Redox Signaling

Cardiovascular disease, cardiac physiology, electrophysiology, proteomics, reactive nitrogen species, nitric oxide, S-nitrosylation, reactive oxygen species, nitroso-redox balance, oxidative stress, sex differences

Umesh Korde, Research Professor
Homewood Campus - Ames 238 ||  410-516-0987
ukorde1@jhu.edu
Jordan Kuiper, Assistant Scientist
jkuiper1@jhmi.edu
sustainability, global environment, chemical exposures, clinical epidemiology, epidemiologic methods, environmental health, environmental epidemiology, biostatistics

Megan Latshaw - JHSPH, Associate Scientist

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E7527 || 410-502-8948

mlatshaw@jhu.edu

Environmental health, master's, environmental justice, public health practice, policy

Jonathan Links, Professor, JHU Vice Provost and Chief Risk and Compliance Officer
Environmental Health Sciences, imaging, dosimetry, radiation, dirty bombs, nuclear medicine, radiological terror, public health preparedness
jlinks1@jhu.edu

Paul A. Locke - JHSPH, Associate Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street || 410-502-2525

plocke@jhu.edu

Environmental law, environmental policy, risk assessment, risk management, radon, radiation, alternatives to animal testing, regulation, uranium mining, space radiation

David C. Love - JHSPH, Associate Scientist

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W7009 || 443-287-4761

dlove8@jhu.edu

Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future

Environmental microbiology, public health microbiology, aquaculture, food production, shellfish

Robert Price Martin - JHSPH, Senior Lecturer

Rmarti57@jhu.edu

Shawn E. McKenzie - JHSPH, Senior Research Associate

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W7010 || 410-502-7578

smckenz1@jhu.edu

Food systems, sustainability, behavior change communication

Diane Meyer, RN, MPH, Analyst, Research Associate

dmeyer10@jhmi.edu

Scot Miller, Assistant Professor
Homewood Campus - Ames 308 || 410-516-7095
smill191@jhu.edu
Greenhouse Gas Lab of Dr. Scot Miller
Greenhouse gases, air pollution, atmospheric science

Wayne Mitzner - JHSPH, Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E7608 || 410-614-5446

wmitzner@jhu.edu

Mitzner Laboratory

Structural basis of physiologic lung function, environmental exposures

Keeve E. Nachman, PhD - JHSPH, Associate Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W7010E || 410-502-7578

knachma1@jhu.edu

Arsenic, food systems, risk science, risk assessment, environmental epidemiology, industrial food animal production, animal waste, animal feed, foraging, urban gardens, agriculture, biosolids, veterinary drugs, Chesapeake Bay watershed protection, antimicrobial resistance, exposure assessment, regulatory toxicology, regulatory policy, chemical residues in food

Roni A. Neff - JHSPH, Associate Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W7010 || 410-614-6027

rneff1@jhu.edu

Food system, food waste, meat, climate change, agriculture, policy, communication, sustainability, health disparities, Baltimore, history, occupational injury and illness, resilience

Jennifer Nuzzo, DrPH, SM, Associate Professor

jnuzzo1@jhu.edu

Nora Pisanic - JHSPH, Assistant Scientist

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W7033

npisani1@jhu.edu

Jonathan S. Pollak - JHSPH, Research Associate

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W7508A || 410-502-6118

jpollak2@jhu.edu

Carsten Prasse, PhD, Assistant Professor
Homewood Campus - Ames 211 || 410-516-5184
cprasse1@jhu.edu
Prasse Lab
Environmental chemistry, exposome science, water treatment, environmental health

Sarah Preheim, PhD, Assistant Professor

Homewood Campus - Ames 205 || 410-516-6632

spreheim@jhu.edu

Preheim Lab Group

Environmental microbiology, microbial ecology, bioinformatics

Harihar Rajaram, Professor, Deputy Chair (WSE)
Homewood Campus - Ames 310 || 410-516-5421
hrajara1@jhu.edu
Lesliam Quirós-Alcalá, PhD - JHSPH, Assistant Professor
615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E6616
lalcala1@jhmi.edu

Gurumurthy Ramachandran, PhD, Professor, Deputy Chair (JHSPH)

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E6634 || 410-502-0182

gramach5@jhu.edu

Johns Hopkins Education and Research Center for Occupational Safety and Health

Exposure assessment, occupational health, exposure models air pollution, Bayesian applications in exposure assessment, nanoparticles, occupational exposures, indoor air pollution, cookstove emissions, exposome

Hermes Reyes-Caballero - JHSPH, Research Associate

hreyesc1@jhu.edu

Caitlin Rivers, PhD, MPH, Assistant Professor
crivers6@jhu.edu

Ana María Rule - JHSPH, Assistant Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W6118 || 410-502-5952

arule1@jhu.edu

Air Pollution, bioaerosols, metal speciation, sampler characterization

Erica Schoenberger, Professor

Homewood Campus - Ames 501 || 410-516-6158

ericas@jhu.edu

Economic geography, environmental history, environmental politics and policy, history of mining, history of the automobile, interdisciplinary scientific collaboration

Monica Schoch-Spana, PhD, Senior Scientist
mschoch1@jhu.edu

Kellogg J. Schwab, PhD - JHSPH, Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E6620 || 410-614-5753

kschwab1@jhu.edu

Environmental health sciences, environmental microbiology, microbial fate and transport, water quality, drinking water treatment, disinfection, groundwater, wastewater, sewage, water and wastewater distribution systems, gastroenteritis, diarrhea, enteric pathogens, parasites (cryptosporidium, toxoplasma, giardia), viruses (norovirus, norwalk-like viruses, hepatitis A virus, rotavirus), bacterial indicators of water quality, bacteriophage, antibiotic resistant bacteria, molecular detection of microorganisms (PCR, RT-PCR, microarrays, hybridization), infectious diseases, microbial risk assessment, food borne and waterborne outbreak investigations, urban environmental pollution, airborne microorganisms, concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFO), Chesapeake Bay research

Brian Schwartz - JHSPH, Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, W7041 || 410-955-4158

bschwar1@jhu.edu

Environmental health sciences, biological markers, cognitive functioning, gene-environment interaction, genetic susceptibility, lead intoxication, molecular epidemiology, neurobehavioral testing, occupational epidemiology, occupational safety and health, retrospective assessment of exposure, solvents, chemicals, global warming, global environmental change, the built environment, unconventional fossil fuels, fracking, environmental epidemiology

Natalie L. Semon - JHSPH, Research Associate

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E7038 || 410-614-3274

nsemon@jhu.edu

Johns Hopkins Center for Public Health Preparedness

Preparedness, emergency response, professional education/training, online learning

Matthew Shearer, MPH, Senior Analyst, Research Associate
mshearer@jhu.edu

Lena Smirnova, PhD, Research Associate

lena.smirnova@jhu.edu

Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing

Evidence-based toxicology, alternative methods, animals in research, 21st century toxicology

Fenna Sillé - JHSPH, Assistant Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E7628 || 410-502-4556

fsille1@jhu.edu

Immunology, immunotoxicology, arsenic, environmental health, infectious disease, tuberculosis, early-life exposures, metabolomics

Genee S. Smith - JHSPH, Assistant Professor

615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W7513D || 443-287-6735

genee@jhu.edu

Environmental health, climate change, environmental epidemiology, infectious disease, air pollution, extreme weather events

Michael Snyder, MALD, Analyst, Research Associate
msnyde30@jhu.edu

Alan T. Stone, Professor

Homewood Campus - Ames 304 || 410-516-8476

astone@jhu.edu

Environmental and aquatic chemistry

Eric Toner, MD, Senior Scholar, Senior Scientist
etoner1@jhu.edu

Katya Tsaioun - JHSPH, Assistant Scientist

ktsaiou1@jhu.edu

Anita Vernekar Shankar, PhD - JHSPH, Associate Scientist

anita.shankar@jhu.edu

Zhibin Wang - JHSPH, Associate Professor

zwang47@jhu.edu

The Wang Laboratory of Human Environmental Epigenomes

Human epigenome, epigenetic code, establishment mechanism of histone codes/patterns, environmental disease, next-generation sequencing, histone acetylation, HATs and HDACs, transcriptional regulation, DNA Methylation, asthma, cancer, autoimmune diseases, HIV/AIDs

Crystal R. Watson, DrPH, MPH, Senior Scholar, Assistant Professor
cwatson@jhu.edu

Matthew Watson, Senior Analyst, Research Associate
mwatson@jhu.edu

Ho Yee Yeung, PhD, Research Associate