Skip to main content
Honors and Awards

Major Awards in the Field

Major Awards in the Field

The George Snedecor Award

This award, given annually by the American Statistical Association, is in recognition of the best publication in biometry. Biostatistics faculty members who have been so honored are listed below.

  • 1997-98: Daniel Scharfstein
  • 1986-87: Kung-Yee Liang and Scott Zeger (co-winners)

Marvin Zelen Leadership Award in Statistical Science

This award recognizes an individual in government, industry, or academia, who by virtue of his/her outstanding leadership, has greatly impacted the theory and practice of statistical science.

  • 2016: Karen Bandeen-Roche
  • 2007: Scott L. Zeger

The Mortimer Spiegelman Award

This award, given annually by the Statistics Section of the American Public Health Association, recognizes outstanding contributions to public health statistics by a statistician under the age of 40. Biostatistics faculty members who have been so honored are listed below.

  • 2016: Roger Peng
  • 2009: Rafael Irizarry
  • 2006: Francesca Dominici
  • 1992: Ron Brookmeyer
  • 1991: Scott Zeger
  • 1990: Kung-Yee Liang

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

The following Johns Hopkins faculty members have been elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a lifetime distinction that recognizes their outstanding contributions to science and technology:

  • Ron Brookmeyer
  • Tom Louis
  • Scott Zeger

American Statistical Associations Fellows

The designation of American Statistical Associations (ASA) fellow has been a significant honor for nearly 100 years. Under ASA bylaws, the Committee on Fellows can elect up to one-third of one percent of the total association membership as fellows each year.

To be selected, nominees must have an established reputation and have made outstanding contributions to statistical science. The Committee on Fellows evaluates each candidate’s contributions to the advancement of statistical science and places due weight on the following: Published works; Position held with employer; ASA activities; Membership and accomplishments in other societies; Professional activities.

Past Recipients:

  • Karen Bandeen-Roche
  • Ron Brookmeyer
  • Marie Diener-West
  • Francesca Dominici
  • Rafael Irizarry
  • Allyn Kimball
  • Kung-Yee Liang
  • Tom Louis
  • Giovanni Parmigiani
  • Charles Rohde
  • Richard Royall
  • Daniel Scharfstein
  • Mei-Cheng Wang
  • Scott Zeger

Awards Information

For more information, please contact Mary Joy Argo, Academic Administrator (phone: 410-614-4454; email: View our past department Honors and Awards winners here.