Skip to main content

Mary Joy Argo Receives Staff Recognition Award

Mary Joy Argo, academic administrator for the Department of Biostatistics, was one of five recipients of the Student Assembly Staff Recognition Award handed out at the 2024 Bloomberg Gala.


This past Friday, Mary Joy Argo, Academic Administrator for the Department of Biostatistics, received the Bloomberg School of Public Health Student Assembly Staff Recognition Award.

The Staff Recognition Award is handed out each year during the Bloomberg Gala to five Bloomberg School staff members who have gone above and beyond in their duties as nominated by students and determined by the Student Assembly Awards Review Committee. This year the Assembly received a total of 187 nominations.

After learning of her win, Mary Joy wrote, “I’m truly honored to be recognized in this way. Helping our students in their academic journey is one of the most gratifying parts of my job.” 

Mary Joy has been the academic administrator for the Department of Biostatistics since 1996. In her role she ensures the high quality of the Biostatistics graduate programs and the quality of the student experience. 

“I cannot imagine my PhD life without Mary Joy.” —PhD candidate Yi Wang

PhD candidate Carly Lupton Brantner remarked, “Mary Joy is an absolute lifesaver and has been vital in ensuring that I am on the right track throughout my time in the Biostatistics PhD program! … I am so grateful for all of her work to make our department run so smoothly!” 

Similarly, MHS candidate Nel Jason L. Haw said, “Mary Joy is one of the most empathetic and efficient administrators I have ever met in my life. I would not have completed my MHS on time if not for her support!” 

As academic administrator, Mary Joy is often the first face from our Department that students meet. “One of my first impressions of Hopkins Biostat was Mary Joy’s warm welcome during the admitted students' visit. She is the backbone of the department—someone I can always ask for guidance, questions, or help,” recalls PhD candidate Michelle Qin.

Previous winners of the Staff Recognition Award in the Department of Biostatistics include Patty Hubbard and Mark Chiveral.