Skip to main content

Bloomberg School Receives ASPPH Award for Outstanding Community Service


The Association of Schools & Programs of Public Health has named the Bloomberg School the recipient of the annual award named in honor of the late former president and CEO of ASPPH, Harrison C. Spencer. The award recognizes the School’s longstanding, major institutional commitment to community engagement to improve public health.

The nexus of the School’s local outreach is SOURCE, a community engagement and service-learning center that works with the Johns Hopkins health professional schools and Baltimore communities to form partnerships that promote health and social justice.

“This award reflects the special commitment of the Bloomberg School of Public Health to our city of Baltimore,” says Dean Ellen J. MacKenzie, PhD ’79, ScM ’75. “This commitment is made real by our departments, centers, offices and SOURCE, an extraordinary organization that creates meaningful and lasting collaborations with local organizations and residents.”