Skip to main content

Welcome to our new website. We’re still fine-tuning things. If you experience any issues or would like to provide feedback, please contact us.

Three Bloomberg Graduates Named to Society of Scholars


Three graduates of the Bloomberg School of Public Health are being recognized by Johns Hopkins University with induction to the Society of Scholars. This year’s inductees include Paolo Pasquini, director of Clinical Epidemiology and Psychology at the Istituto Dermopatico dell’Immacolata in Rome; Achim Schneider, chair of the Department of Gynecology and Gynecologic Oncology at Charité University Medicine in Berlin; and  Iman Nuwayhid, professor and dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at American University of Beirut.

“These Scholars reflect the breadth of our School’s expertise: an epidemiologic researcher and psychiatrist who has served at local, national, and international levels; a recognized world leader in papillomaviruses and cervical cancer, and laparoscopic surgery in gynecologic oncology; and a visionary leader and researcher in occupational medicine and epidemiology who has become a change agent to improve heath in his nation,” said Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH, dean of the Bloomberg School of Public Health. “We are very proud of all they have accomplished.”

As director of research for the Italian National Health Institute, Dr. Pasquini is credited with strengthening clinical epidemiology and his research has demonstrated the relationship between psychiatric disorders and skin conditions.

Dr. Schneider is a pioneer of laparoscopic surgery in gynecologic oncology. His epidemiological research has focused on the connection between papillomaviruses and cervical cancer.

Dr. Nuwayhid has made many advances in occupational health research in developing countries, specifically regarding accident and injury prevention, drinking water safety and waterborne illness prevention, prevention of neurobehavioral impairment in children due to toxic occupational exposures and pediatric and adult lead poisoning control and prevention. He is co-author of the new book Public Health in the Arab World.

The Society of Scholars was created in 1967 by Johns Hopkins president Milton S. Eisenhower as the first society of its kind in the nation. Former postdoctoral fellows, postdoctoral degree recipients, house staff and junior or visiting faculty who have served at least a year at Johns Hopkins and thereafter gained marked distinction elsewhere in their fields of physical, biological, medical, social or engineering sciences or in the humanities and for whom at least five years have elapsed since their last Johns Hopkins affiliation are eligible for induction. The Committee of the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars, whose members are equally distributed among the academic divisions, elects a limited number of scholars from the candidates nominated by the academic divisions with postdoctoral programs.

Media contact: Tim Parsons, director of Public Affairs, at 410-955-7619 or