Skip to main content

Welcome to our brand new website. We’re still fine-tuning things. If you experience any issues or would like to provide feedback, please contact us.

Bloomberg School Faculty Named to Health Benefit Exchange Board


Darrell J. Gaskin, PhD, and Lisa Dubay, PhD, were appointed by Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley to serve as members of the state’s Health Benefit Exchange. Both are associate professors in the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

The Health Benefit Exchange was created in response to the federal Affordable Care Act and will allow state residents to compare rates and benefits of health insurance plans. The Exchange is charged with the responsibility of reducing the number of Marylanders without health insurance, and providing Marylanders with high-quality, affordable private health plans at competitive costs. The nine-member Board of Directors will oversee the online marketplace where individual Maryland residents and small employers can shop for health insurance plans that meets their needs.

Other members of the Exchange Board include: Georges Benjamin, executive director of the American Public Health Association; Jennifer Goldberg, assistant director of advocacy for health care at the Maryland Legal Aid Bureau; Enrique Martinez-Vidal, vice president at AcademyHealth and director of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s State Coverage Initiatives program; Thomas Saquella, former President of the Maryland Retailers Association; Joshua Sharfstein, secretary of the state’s Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; Bob Steffen, acting executive director of the Maryland Health Care Commission; and Therese Goldsmith, commissioner of the Maryland Insurance Administration.

Media contact: Tim Parsons, director of Public Affairs, at 410-955-7619 or