Skip to main content
Award Details

Sommer Klag Advocacy Achievement Award


What is the Advocacy Achievement Award?
1 faculty member
(Primary appointment in BSPH; excludes faculty with instructor, adjunct, or visiting appointments)

$100,000 Achievement Award, to further their impact

A portion of the awards is expected to be used to develop the pipeline of future public health advocates.

The winner's work will demonstrate:
  • A proven impact in their area of advocacy expertise
  • A shift in policy, social norms, or behavior
  • How their advocacy work has resulted in significant health protections or impact
What is the timeline?

The next round of the Advocacy Achievement Award is planned for Fall 2024. A detailed timeline will be available Summer 2024.

How are nominations submitted?

The nomination period will open in Fall 2024. Nominations are submitted through an online submission form.

2022 Nomination Form Items

  • Name, department, faculty rank, and email address
  • Self-nominating or nominating someone else
  • Title/topic of work
  • Overall description and quality of the work - what is the need, origin, and window of opportunity for the work? (400 words or less)
  • Nominee's role in and contribution to a shift in policy, social norms, or behavior - what has the nominee done and how was the work strategic and/or innovative? (400 words or less)
  • Impact assessment - what are the implications and prospects for longevity of the work? How have these efforts improved equity? Does the work help close the gap on the issue? (400 words or less)
  • External partnerships and coalitions - what partnerships/relationships have been built or strengthened as a result of this work? (400 words or less)
  • Contribution to the field - how does this work move the field of public health advocacy forward? (400 words or less)
  • CV & 2 supporting documents (e.g.,┬ápublications, articles, videos, or other supplemental materials). Documents can be shared via hyperlink and/or file upload.
What if I have more questions?

Please email Diane Coraggio ( if you have specific questions about the awards process.