Skip to main content

A cross-divisional department spanning

Faculty

Affiliated Faculty Directory

Emeritus Faculty

William Ball - Professor Emeritus 
Executive Director, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Environmental engineering, physical and chemical processes,
water quality

John J. Boland -  Professor Emeritus

Environmental economics and policy

Grace S. Brush -  Professor Emeritus

Ecology, paleoecology, plant geography

Srinivasan Chandrasegaran - Professor Emeritus

Environmental Health Sciences, restriction enzymes, methylases, chimeric nucleases, targeted recombination,
zinc finger nucleases, targeted gene correction, targeted gene disruption, homologous recombination

Sheila Fitzgerald - Associate Professor Emeritus

 

Environmental Health Sciences, adolescents and young working adults,
occupational stress, cardiovascular disease risk, return to work, workplace violence,
health promotion, disease prevention
Alan Goldberg- Professor Emeritus, Associate Chair

Environmental Health Sciences, toxicology, humane science, in vitro, Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing

Thomas Kensler - Professor Emeritus
 
Environmental Health Sciences, chemical carcinogenesis, chemoprevention,
hepatocarcinogenesis, reactive oxygen, antioxidants, enzyme induction,
aflatoxin, oltipraz, chlorophyllin, sulforaphane, Keap1, Nrf2, triterpenoids
Robert S. Lawrence - Professor Emeritus
 
Environmental impacts of industrial agriculture, food security,
health and human rights
Peter Lees - Professor Emeritus
 
Industrial hygiene, occupational and environmental hygiene,
Environmental Health Sciences, exposure assessment, retrospective exposure assessment,
surface contamination, dermal exposure, synthetic vitreous fibers, chromium

Terence H. Risby - Professor Emeritus

Environmental Health Sciences, tissue injury and disease, liver and kidney cellular injury,
oxidative stress in humans, obesity, breath biomarkers of disease, breath biomarkers of tissue injury,
breath biomarkers of exposure, molecular basis of lung injury, airborne particulate matter, phagocytosis

Ellen Silbergeld - Professor Emeritus Industrial farming, food safety, molecular devices for pathogen detection, disease modeling
antibiotic-resistant bacteria, heavy metals, environmental and occupational health

Ernst Spannhake -  Professor Emeritus

 

Environmental Health Sciences, air pollution, ozone, respiratory system, nasal bronchial,
epithelium inflammation, mucosal immunity, T-cell activation, mediators, gene expression,
asthma, influenza A, rhinovirus, respiratory syncytial virus

Paul Strickland - Professor Emeritus

 

Environmental and occupational health sciences, molecular biomonitoring,
genotoxic agents, carcinogens, genetic polymorphisms, carcinogen metabolites,
genetic damage in human populations, molecular epidemiology, exposome

James D. Yager - Professor Emeritus

 

Estrogens, estradiol, estrogen metabolism, catechol-O-methyltransferase (COMT),
catechols, estrogen receptor, estrogen receptors, carcinogenesis, liver cancer,
breast cancer, genetic polymorphisms, Environmental Health Sciences,
environmental disease: molecular mechanisms, pathophysiology molecular,
translational toxicology, training program in Environmental Health Sciences

 

Bloomberg School - Part Time Faculty

Amy Alfriend Associate
Daniel Anna  Senior Associate
Dennis Averill Associate
John Balbus Associate Professor
William Ball Research Professor
bball@jhu.edu
Stephen Bowes Assistant Professor
sbowes1@jhu.edu
Timothy Buckley Associate Professor
tbuckley@jhu.edu
Stuart Chaitkin Senior Associate
Kai Loon Chen Assistant Research Professor
Katherine Clancy Senior Associate
Marianne Cloeren Associate
Michael Crupain Associate
Melissa Frisch Associate
Tullika Garg Associate
Howard Gwon Senior Associate
Rolf Halden Associate Professor
480-727-0893
Elise Handelman Associate
Annemarie Gregory Hirsch Assistant Professor
aghirsch@geisinger.edu 
Frances Humphrey Associate
Joseph Jacangelo Associate Professor
540-822-5874
David Jacobs Associate
Jana Kesavan Associate
Emory Knowles Associate
Pamela Krahl Associate
James Madsen Associate
Olusola Malomo Associate
Stephan Mann Associate
Kelsey McCoskey Associate
Melissa McDiarmid Associate Professor
mmcdiar1@jhmi.edu 
Clifford Mitchell Associate Professor
cmitchel@jhsph.edu 
John Pentikis Associate
John Piacentino Associate
Alan Roberson Associate
Nathaniel Rothman Professor
Michael Anthony Sauri Associate
Anita Schill Associate
Nicola Alessandro Scichilone Associate Professor
David Sliney Associate
Maria Tellez-Plaza Assistant Professor
mtellez3@jhu.edu 
Richard Thomas Associate
Craig Thorne Assistant Professor
Mingyi Wang Assistant Professor
Ronald White Senior Associate
Masayuki Yamamoto Professor


Bloomberg School - Joint Faculty

Susan Baker Professor
Bloomberg School of Public Health
624 N Broadway Hampton House 537 || 410-955-2078
sbaker3@jhu.edu
Injury, teen drivers, alcohol, aviation safety, injury severity, occupational safety, childhood injury, eldery injury
Edward Bernacki Associate Professor
School of Medicine
600 N. Wolfe Street Billings Administration 131 || 410-955-9231
bernacki@jhmi.edu
Karen Bolla Associate Professor
School of Medicine
kbolla@jhmi.edu
Neuropsychology, drug abuse, behavioral neurotoxicology, aging
Malcolm Brock Associate Professor
School of Medicine
mabrock@jhmi.edu
Robert Brown Professor
School of Medicine
615 N Wolfe St., E7614 || 410-614-6461
rbrown@jhmi.edu
Environmental Health Sciences structure-function relationship of pulmonary airways and vessels and how they relate to reactive airway disease
Thomas Burke Professor
Bloomberg School of Public Health
624 N. Broadway Hampton House 429 || 410-614-4587
tburke1@jhu.edu
Environmental health policy risk assessment and communication, environmental epidemiology, health policy and management
Robert Anthony Casero Professor
School of Medicine 
Bunting-Blaustein Cancer Research Bldg. Rm 551 || 410-955-8580
rcasero@jhmi.edu
Polyamines, polyamine oxidase, SSAT, APAO, PAOh1, spermine oxidase (SMO) apoptosis, reactive oxygen species, inflammation-associated carcinogenesis, chemoprevention, LSD1, epigenetics, chromatin modification, lysine demethylation
Valeria Culotta Professor
Bloomberg School of Public Health
615 N. Wolfe Street Room W8116 || 410-955-3029
vculott1@jhu.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, environmental health, copper, manganese, iron, zinc, antioxidants, ROS, superoxide dismutase, yeast, Candida, Borrella, Lyme disease, infection, pathogens, microbes, metals 
Rachel Damico Assistant Professor
School of Medicine
rdamico1@jhmi.edu
Sinha Debasish Assistant Professor
School of Medicine 
Gregory Diette Associate Professor
School of Medicine
1830 E. Monument Street 5th Floor || 410-502-7038
gdiette@jhmi.edu
Epidemiology of lung diseases, asthma, COPD, outcomes, environmental, particulate matter, allergens, health disparities
Daniela Drummond-Barbosa Professor
Bloomberg School of Public Health
615 N. Wolfe Street Room W3118
dbarbosa@jhu.edu
Stem cells, diet, metabolism, obesity, genetics, endocrinology, developmental biology, reproductive biology, oogenesis, adipocytes, germline, Drosophila 
Joshua Epstein Professor
School of Medicine
5801 Smith Avenue Suite 3220 || 410-735-6419
jepste15@jhmi.edu
Edward Gabrielson Professor
School of Medicine
egabriel@jhmi.edu
Kathleen Gabrielson Associate Professor
School of Medicine
kgabrielson@jhmi.edu
Christine Marie George Assistant Professor
Bloomberg School of Public Health
615 N. Wolfe Street Room E5535 || 410-955-2485
cgeorg19@jhu.edu
Diarrheal disease, water, sanitation, hygiene, interventions, cholera, shigellosis, arsenic, uranium, environmental surveillance, community capacity building 
Nadia Hansel Assistant Professor
School of Medicine
nhansel1@jhmi.edu
Maureen Horton Associate Professor
School of Medicine
615 N. Wolfe Street, W7006
mhorton2@jhmi.edu Physiology 
Namisha Kalia-Satwah Assistant Professor
School of Medicine
600 N. Wolfe Street, Billings Administration 131 || 410-955-9231
nkalia2@jhmi.edu
Raymond Koehler Professor
School of Medicine
Blalock 1404, Johns Hopkins Hospital || 410-955-4068
Mechanisms of oxygen transport regulation, cerebrovascular physiology, cardiac arrest and resuscitation, stroke, hepatic encephalopathy

 

Stephen Lajoie

Assistant Scientist
615 N. Wolfe Street
slajoie1@jhu.edu
Mahadevappa Mahesh Professor
School of Medicine
601 N. Caroline Street, Suit 4235 || 410-955-5155
mmahesh2@jhmi.edu
Joseph Margolick Professor
Bloomberg School of Public health
615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E5153 || 410-955-1436
jmargol1@jhu.edu Human immunodeficiency virus, immune assessment, immune deficiency, T-cells flow cytometry, cell sorting pathogenesis of HIV
Meredith McCormack Assistant Professor
School of Medicine
mmccor16@jhmi.edu Asthma, COPD, particulate matter, air pollution, pulmonary function
Sharon McGrath-Morrow Professor
School of Medicine
smcgrath@jhmi.edu
Alvaro Muñoz Professor
Bloomberg School of Public Health
615 N. Wolfe Street, E7649 || 410-955-2792
amunoz@jhu.edu
Statistics in Epidemiology, cohort studies, survival analysis, analysis of longitudinal data, kidney disease, infectious disease, pelvic floor disorders, post marketing surveillance
William Nelson Professor
School of Medicine
bnelson@jhmi.edu
Andrew Stanley Pekosz Professor
Bloomberg School of Public Health
615 N. Wolfe Street, Room W2116 || 410-502-9306
apekosz1@jhu.edu
Virus, virus assembly, virus-host interaction, respiratory infections, receptors, cell tropism, vaccines, influenza, SARS-CoV, MERS-CoV, enterovirus-D68, hantavirus 
Alan Scott Professor
Bloomberg School of Public Health
615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E5152 || 410-955-3442
ascott5@jhu.edu
Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, parasitic nematodes, biology infections, parasites, filarial nematodes, asthma, allergy, gene expression, analysis genomics, gene array, microarray
William Segars Assistant Professor
School of Medicine
wsegars@jhmi.edu
James Sham Associate Professor
School of Medicine
JHAAC 4B-35 || 410-550-0545
jsks@jhmi.edu
Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
David Stein Assistant Professor
School of Medicine
Center for A Livable Future – 7th Floor || 410-614-4590
ds3@jhmi.edu Human rights 
Peter Terry Professor
School of Medicine
JHAAX 4B.72 || 410-550-0545
pterry@jhmi.edu
Medical Ethics 
Bradley Undem Professor
School of Medicine
JHAAC 3A.12A || 410-550-2160
bundem@jhmi.edu
Peripheral nervous system inflammation, sympathetic ganglia, pharmacological electrophysiological, biochemical, anatomical
Elizabeth Wagner Professor
School of Medicine
JHAAC 4B.66 || 410-550-2506
wagnerem@jhmi.edu
Environmental Health Sciences, angiogenesis, bronchial circulation, endothelial cell biology, leukocyte recruitment, particle clearance
Robert Wise Professor
School of Medicine
Johns Hopkins Asthma & Allergy Center, 4B.72 || 410-550-0545
rwise@jhmi.edu
Clinical trials in chronic obstructive lung diseases
Srinivasan Yegnasubramanian Associate Professor
School of Medicine
syegnasu@jhmi.edu
Cynthia Zahnow Assistant Professor
School of Medicine
zahnoci@jhmi.edu
Diane Zerbe Associate Faculty  
dzerbe1@jhu.edu
Industrial hygiene, occupational hygiene, environmental hygiene


Whiting School - Affiliated Faculty

Peter Wilcock Research Professor
wilcock@jhu.edu
Seth Guikema Associate Research Professor
sguikema@umich.edu
Justin Williams Lecturer
jcwjr@jhu.edu
Thomas Coleman Lecturer
tcoleman@uchicago.edu


Whiting School - Joint, Part-Time and Visiting Faculty

Royce Francis Adjunct Assistant Professor
royce.francis@jhu.edu Environmental Policy 
Dennice Gayme Assistant Professor
dennice@jhu.edu Modeling, design and control of distributed systems  
Theodore Goldstein Adjunct Professor
tpgoldstein@jhu.edu
Edward Hecker Adjunct Assistant Research Engineer
edward.j.hecker@usace.army.mil
Critical infrastructure resilience, lifecycle flood risk management
Michael Karweit Senior Lecturer
mjk@jhu.edu
Joseph Katz Professor
katz@jhu.edu
Experimental fluid mechanics, development of advanced diagnostics techniques
Charles Meneveau Professor
meneveau@jhu.edu
Environmental fluid mechanics, engineering, turbulence
Marc B. Parlange Adjunct Professor
marc.parlange@epfl.ch
Hydrology, environmental fluid mechanics, atmospheric interactions
Andrea Prosperetti Professor
prosperetti@jhu.edu
Fluid mechanics, bubble mechanics, numerical simulations
Andrew Samuel Adjunct Assistant Professor
asamuel@loyola.edu
Applied Microeconomics, game theory, political economy of development
Kellogg Schwab Associate Professor
Environmental Health Engineering, Bloomberg School of Public Health kschwab1@jhu.edu
Environmental public health, pathogen microbiology
Eugene Stakhiv Adjunct Associate Research Engineer
eugenestakhiv@jhu.edu
Climate change adaptation, integrated water resources management and sustainable development 
Ben Zaitchik Assistant Professor
zaitchik@jhu.edu
Understanding, managing, and coping with climatic and hydrologic variability