Skip to main content
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

BMB is committed to creating an environment rich in diversity and invested in maintaining an atmosphere that embraces the diverse cultures of our academic community. The mission of the BMB Diversity and Inclusion Committee is to advance the Department’s valuing of a diverse and inclusive community, and to develop a welcoming, supportive environment for trainees, staff, and faculty. By educating department members of the importance of diversity, equal opportunity, and civility, we seek to nurture the Department’s multicultural community and champion diversity in the biomedical sciences and academia.

Committee Leadership


Utthara Nayar, Assistant Professor

Brittany Jenkins-Lord, Assistant Professor

Associate Chair for Diversity and Inclusion, BMB

Jiou Wang, Walder Foundation Distinguished Professor

E.V. McCollum Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Ashani Weeraratna, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor

Committee Membership

Alexis Carey, PhD Student

Marika David, PhD Student

Allison DeHaas, PhD Student

Stella Du, MHS Student

Ishika Gupta, ScM Student

Jeri Hughes, MHS Student

Anthony Leung, Professor

Xiangning (Shannon) Li, Research Technologist

Larissa Cortes Morales, PhD Student

Angel Pajimola, PhD Student

Cheyenne Palm, PhD Student

Vito Rebecca, Assistant Professor, BMB Department IDARE Representative and Diversity Advocate

Sarah Studer, Communications Specialist